Council Members at the Indian Flag RaisingThe City Council in Jersey City consists of nine members: one council member for each of the City’s six wards, plus three at-large council members who represent the entire City.  Every two years, the members of the City Council vote among themselves to select one member to serve as the City Council President. 

Council members serve for a term of four years, which coincides with that of the Mayor.  Council members are not subject to term limits.  The scope of the City Council’s power is described in the Jersey City Municipal Code.  

To have your name added to the public speakers' list for an upcoming City Council meeting, please call the Office of the City Clerk at (201) 547 5150.


The present council will serve until
December 31, 2017:
Council President - Rolando R. Lavarro, Jr.
Councilwoman at Large - Joyce Watterman
Councilman at Large - Daniel Rivera
Ward A Councilman - Frank Gajewski
Ward B Councilman - Chris L. Gadsden
Ward C Councilman - Richard Boggiano
Ward D Councilman - Michael Yun
Ward E Councilman - Candice Osborne 
Ward F Councilwoman - Jermaine Robinson

Department Contact Info

  • phone(201) 547-5204
  • phone(201) 547-5053
  • fax(201) 547-4678
  • 280 Grove Street
    Room 202
    Jersey City, NJ 07302

    Margaret DeVico, Council Secretary

  • Directions
© City of Jersey City | All Rights Reserved. Powered by Civiclive Connect. Engage. Serve