The Division of Community Health & Wellness serves as the chief Health Strategist for Jersey City. In response to the diverse and ever-growing needs of the city, where over 70 languages are spoken, the division utilizes public health data to drive its education efforts. In its mission to create a city where residents are healthy, well and thriving, multilingual health educators are assigned to address the city's most emerging health needs. Data has shown that in Wards A & F the most urgent health priorities are mental health and violence. Health educators have now shifted their focus and resources to align with those health needs. Building and strengthening community partnerships and data-informed health strategies result in creating a stronger, healthier Jersey City.


SERVICES

  •  Assess community and individual health needs
  • Develop a structured ward-based health education program
  • Create public awareness of chronic health needs
  • Provide guidance and consultation to various organizations - health, civic, faith-based, public and private corporations
  • Coordinate The Jersey City AIDS Task Force
  • Develop and implement employee wellness programs
  • Identify and secure funding streams for health prevention programming
  • Assist with ACA and SHIP enrollment

WORKSHOPS

  •  Healthier Choices
  • Smoking Cessation
  • Peer Pressure/Bullying
  • Men's Health
  • Women's Health
  • Substance Misuse
  • STI's/ HIV/AIDS
  • Emergency Preparedness
  • Children's Health
  • Cardiovascular Disease
  • Diabetes
  • Mental Health
  • Violence

KEY STAFF

Linda Ivory-Green, Director 201-547-5583  Ivoryl@jcnj.org

Luis Estevez, Ward A Health Educator 201-547-4578  LEstevez@jcnj.org

Samah Hassan, Ward B Health Educator 201-547-4578  SHassan@jcnj.org

Luis Perez, Ward C Health Educator 201-547-4572  LPerez@jcnj.org

Andrea Jimenez, Ward D Health Educator 201-547-4578  AJimenez@jcnj.org

Heather Burdett, Ward E Health Educator 201-547-4578  HBurdett@jcnj.org

Patricia Lindor, Ward F Health Educator 201-547-4578  PLindor@jcnj.org 

Sharon Charles, Health Educator 201-547-4587 SCharles@jcnj.org

Alma Santana, Community Educator 201-547-4578 SantanaA@jcnj.org

Department Contact Info

  • phone201-547-5583
  • City Hall Annex
    1 Jackson Square
    Jersey City NJ 07305

    Linda Ivory, Division Director
  • Directions


TO REQUEST A WORKSHOP PLEASE FILL OUT THE FORM BELOW.