The City Council in Jersey City consists of nine members: one council member for each of the City’s six wards, plus three at-large council members who represent the entire City.  Every two years, the members of the City Council vote among themselves to select one member to serve as the City Council President.  

Council members serve for a term of four years, which coincides with that of the Mayor.  Council members are not subject to term limits.  The scope of the City Council’s power is described in the Jersey City Municipal Code

To add your name to the public speakers' list for an upcoming City Council meeting, please call the City Clerk's Office at (201) 547 5150.

To schedule a tour of City Hall for a school group, summer camp, daycare, or tour group, please contact Marlene Sandkamp, Council Office Administrator, at (201) 547 5053 or

To view the entire CY2018 Municipal Budget Proposal click below: 

Initial value


The present council will serve until
December 31, 2021:
Council President - Rolando R. Lavarro, Jr.
Councilwoman at Large - Joyce E. Watterman
Councilman at Large - Daniel Rivera
Ward A Councilwoman - Denise Ridley
Ward B Councilwoman - Mira Prinz-Arey
Ward C Councilman - Richard Boggiano
Ward D Councilman - Michael Yun
Ward E Councilman - James Solomon 
Ward F Councilman - Jermaine D. Robinson

Department Contact Info

  • phoneCouncil Office Main Line: (201) 547-5204
  • phoneMarlene Sandkamp, Council Office Administrator: (201) 547-5053
  • faxCouncil Office Fax: (201) 547-4678
  • 280 Grove Street
    Room 202
    Jersey City, NJ 07302
  • Directions
  • Search